Finished her Ph.D. in 1994, is assistent professor since 1997 in the Institute for Physical Chemistry of the Johannes Gutenberg-University, Member of the Electron Microscopy Centre Mainz (EMZM) the SFB 625 "From single molecules to nanoscopically structured materials and the Schwerpunktprogramm SPP 1415 „Kristalline Nichtgleichgewichtsphasen (KNG) - Präparation, Charakterisierung und in situ-Untersuchung der Bildungsmechanismen". Member and former chair of the Special Interest Group on electron crystallography (SIG4) of the European Crystallographic Association ECA. Vize-chair of the commission on electron crystallography of the International Union of Crystallography IUCr.